Why I Oppose Donald Trump:

“You know, the military and the law enforcement, generally speaking, but all of it – but the military gave us tremendous percentages of votes. We were unbelievably successful in the election with getting the vote of the military.” – President Trump, 21 January, 2017 at the CIA

I am a veteran.
I did not vote for you President Trump.
I would not vote for you if it were a life or death situation.

Let’s go back to the Vietnam War, Donny boy. Wait a minute, you didn’t go, did you? That’s right. If the records are true, you received four different draft deferments while attending college. So when your number was called for the fifth time, you went, right? Nope. You didn’t. You received a fifth and final deferment for bone spurs in your heels. You received a full medical deferment which exempted you from all service. Hell, bone spurs are so common now that they don’t prevent you from service as long as you can do your job. It took two shoulder surgeries for the Navy to finally say, “You know what? Nothing else we can do. Go home.” Your feet hurt real bad though, right?

Now, lots of people received draft deferments. I can’t really hold that against you. You were born rich and the poor had to be sent off to fight the rich man’s war. It’s a reality, and I’ve accepted that. You should have left Vietnam where it was, but you couldn’t resist, could you?

“It’s amazing, I can’t even believe it. I’ve been so lucky in terms of that whole world [dating and sex], it is a dangerous world out there. It’s like Vietnam, sort of. It is my personal Vietnam. I feel like a great and very brave soldier.”
“You know, if you’re young, and in this era, and if you have any guilt about not having gone to Vietnam, we have our own Vietnam – it’s called the dating game, dating is like being in Vietnam. You’re the equivalent of a soldier going over to Vietnam.” – 1997 to Howard Stern

Really? I mean, come on Donald. I’m sure we’ve all had bad relationships and bad sexual partners, but comparing that to war? Comparing dating and sex to being a ‘very brave soldier’? Not to mention this isn’t any particular war, but the one that YOU skipped out on.
But wait, there’s more!
You spent some time at the New York Military Academy. That’s all well and good, hell, I probably could have used some sort of structure in my life as a teen. But to say, “I always thought I was in the military”, in regards to your time there? That’s a little absurd. Any veteran knows that time in service is nothing like your military academy experience. You also allegedly said that the New York Military Academy gave you “more training militarily than a lot of the guys that go into the military.” Yeah, I’m gonna go ahead and say, “No, it didn’t.” I’m going to use purely anecdotal evidence here but my training and various schools lasted somewhere around 11 months. Five days a week, my job was to attend various schools and training to make me into the best possible sailor I could have been. I get it, you went to an expensive prep school for a couple years. It wasn’t anything like military training. Your life, your friends’ and shipmates’ lives didn’t potentially depend on your training.
“I felt like I was in the military in a true sense, because I dealt with the people.”
Give me a fucking break.

“He is a war hero because he was captured. I like people that weren’t captured, okay?” – referring to Sen. John McCain

Let’s set something straight right now, Sen. McCain is not a hero because he was shot down and captured. He’s not a hero because he was a POW. He’s a hero because he refused to accept parole or favors as stated in the code of conduct. (Coincidentally, Hero of War by Rise Against just started on Pandora.)

“I always wanted to get the Purple Heart. This was much easier.” – after receiving a Purple Heart from a veteran

The Purple Heart is the one medal that nobody wants to receive. I’ve seen them delivered to men that I hold dear to my heart. I’ve seen them delivered to grieving widows who just lost their husband, sons who just lost their father. The Purple Heart is not something to make light of sir.

“Who wrote that? Did Hillary’s scriptwriters write it?” – referring to the parents of Capt. Humayun Khan

The three previous quotes prove that you understand less than nothing about the military and veteran community. You attempted to discredit Sen. McCain for being captured, while participating in a war you ran from. You disparaged prisoners of war. You attacked a gold star family and claimed that their story was written for them. How any veteran in their right minds could support you is, frankly, beyond comprehension.

Let’s leave your comments regarding the military aside for now. I’ll finish this up with a little letter of sorts.

Mr. President,
I made an oath to “support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; That I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same.” You are, by all means, an enemy of the Constitution. You’ve attempted to dance around the checks and balances laid forth by the Founding Fathers with a series of executive orders. You’ve attacked the independent Judiciary laid forth by the Founding Fathers. You’ve attacked freedom of the press and established orders based on religious discrimination. You’ve made promises based on xenophobia and racism. You’ve appointed people who are woefully unqualified, and bitched when questions have been raised about said appointees. You’ve been tied to many Russian diplomats, businessmen, and Vladimir Putin himself. You’ve given our allies doubts about their relationship with the USA moving forward. You’ve given our enemies the greatest recruiting tool in the world. You’ve bragged about committing sexual assault/rape, and no, that wasn’t “locker room talk.” In fact, if someone were to say some shit like that anywhere near me, I would feed them their teeth. You’ve bragged about being able to shoot someone in broad daylight, and everyone would approve of it. You’ve said over and over again that torture works. You’ve mocked those with disabilities. You’ve mocked your detractors. You’ve mocked protesters and suggested that we’re all being paid. You’ve surrounded yourself with people who think “alternative facts” are truth. You’ve surrounded yourself with people who’ve run anti-Semitic and racist websites. I could keep going, but I’ll stop here. Gotta leave something for the imagination, am I right?
There’s one common thread to all of these problems though.
The thread is you Mr. President. You are the one making a mockery of the Office of the President of the United States. You’re the one making our fine nation into an international laughing stock. You’re the one causing us to raise questions about where your allegiance lies. You’re the one who belittles anyone who dare doubt him. You’re the reason I oppose you.
I oppose you with every fiber of my being Mr. Trump. I’ve experienced a lot of pain and suffering. I’ve experienced many trials and tribulations in my time on this Earth. I’ve seen a lot of evil, and I’ve felt a lot of hatred. Mr. President, there is nothing I’ve opposed more vehemently than your Presidency. If you want to “Make America Great Again”, please resign. Let me be clear, I mean you no harm. I just can’t stand seeing our country fall apart under your regime.

I would not vote for you if it were a life or death situation. I would not praise you if it were a life or death situation.

Sincerely,
United States Navy Veteran
80% Service Connected Disability Rating
“Nikolai Brumbach”

 

Leave a Reply

